“Monochromatic Light (Afterlife)” by Tyshawn Sorey

$75 general admission tickets include post-concert conversation and reception
All attendees will be required to wear a mask that covers their nose and mouth at all times except while eating and drinking, and show either proof of a negative COVID-19 test result or proof of vaccination and photo identification upon check-in. 

Tyshawn Sorey: Rothko Chapel 50th Anniversary Commission Monochromatic Light (Afterlife)
Tyshawn Sorey, composer, conductor
Houston Chamber Choir
Davóne Tines, bass-baritone
Kim Kashkashian, viola
Steven Schick, percussion
Sarah Rothenberg, piano/celesta

In celebration of the 50th anniversary of the opening of Rothko Chapel, DACAMERA and Rothko Chapel commissioned boundary-breaking composer Tyshawn Sorey to create a new work inspired by the Chapel and by Morton Feldman’s 20th-century masterpiece, Rothko Chapel, composed for the opening celebration. Tyshawn Sorey epitomizes DACAMERA’s commitment to work that explodes traditional distinctions between genres. Using the same instrumentation as Feldman, Tyshawn Sorey brings to this new work his impressive background in jazz and creative music. Sorey’s new work premieres during the 50th anniversary year of the first performance of the Feldman work at the dedication of the Chapel in 1972.

“My music is synonymous with meditation in that it is intended to expand one’s consciousness and fulfillment THROUGH the act of listening as well as giving the experiencer the opportunity to heighten their sense of awareness…my music perfectly aligns with the intention of the Chapel, which has always served as a place for meditation.” – Tyshawn Sorey

“He was the composer of the year…an artist at the nexus of the music industry’s artistic and social concerns.” – The New York Times

“among the most formidable denizens of the in-between zone…An extraordinary talent who can see across the entire musical landscape.” -- The New Yorker

Undewriting Support for the Rothko Chapel's 2021-2022 Program Season was provided by Catalina de la Garza, Cristy & Michael Jadick, C.C. Lee, Christina & Troy Porter, Elsa Ross, Robin & Andrew Schirrmeister, and Sarita Tennant. Thank you for your support!

Learn more about upcoming programs in the Songs for Justice series.